Africa Free Trade Agreement Signatories

The Protocol on Free Movement aims to create a visa-free zone within the AfCFTA countries and to support the creation of the African Union passport. [27] At the Kigali Summit on March 21, 2018, 44 countries signed the AfCFTA, 47 the Kigali Declaration and 30 the Protocol on the Free Movement of Persons. Although it was a success, there were two notable holdouts: Nigeria and South Africa, The two largest economies in Africa. [28] [29] [30] The implementation phase of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AFCFTA) is expected to start in less than three months. While the COVID-19 crisis has undoubtedly complicated the picture, the East African region is indeed well positioned to implement the AfCFTA. Despite the skepticism expressed in some quarters about the ability of countries to implement the pioneering trade agreement, there are strong reasons to be optimistic. .